List of father-son duos to win NBA Championship

List of father-son duos to win NBA Championship

It is the dream of most NBA superstars to see their sons follow in their footsteps. In the 75 years of the National Basketball Association, there have been several father-son duos gracing the NBA but only a few duos were able to win NBA Championships. We have Doc Rivers and Austin Rivers, and Dell Curry, and his two sons Steph and Seth Curry. 5-star NBA champion, Kobe Bryant followed in his dad’s footsteps, Joe Bryant. There is also Ernie and Kiki Vandeweghe, Jalen Walker and Jalen Rose. There are many more than you think of. Read also. list of foreign players who have won the NBA MVP.

However, out of the numerous father-son duos to play in the NBA, only five father-son duos were able to win the NBA championship.

Matt Guokas Sr. and Matt Guokas Jr.

Due to an accident in which he lost his right leg, Matt Guokas Sr career’s was cut short. Guokas Sr.’s one year with the Philadelphia Warriors, currently, Golden State Warriors saw him averaging 1.7 points in the Philadelphia Warriors 1946/47 championship season of the Basketball Association of America (BAA). This was just a year before. National Basketball League (NBL) was absorbed by BAA and rebranded as National Basketball Association. He became a broadcaster after the unfortunate accident. Guokas Sr died on December 9, 1993.

Matt Guokas Jr. was part of the Philadelphia 76er’s 1966/67 NBA Championship run that ended the Boston Celtic’s 8-year NBA Championship streak: the longest NBA championship streak. He played for the Philadelphia Sixers from 1966 to 1870. He played for other teams in the league including Chicago Bulls, Kansas City Kings, Buffalo Braves now known as Los Angeles Clippers, and the Houston Rockets. After he retired, coached Philadelphia Sixers and Orlando Magic before becoming a broadcaster. The Guokas is the first father-son duos to win NBA Championship

Rick Barry and Brent Barry

Rick Barry is an 8-time NBA All-Star and a Hall of Famer. He averaged 29.5 points, 5.0 assists, and 3.5 steals per game to lead Golden State Warriors to win the 1974/75 NBA Championship. With his excellent performance, he was adjudged the Finals MVP after sweeping the highly favored Washington Bullets.

Rick Barry did not have one or two but 3 sons playing in the NBA. Although Jo and Brent played for the Golden State Warriors, they could not win an NBA Championship. Brent Barry made history in 2005 by winning the NBA Championship with San Antonio Spurs to join Matt Guokas Sr. and Matt Guokas Jr. as a father-son duo to win NBA Championship.  San Antonio Spurs swept Lebron James led Cleveland Cavaliers to get Brent Barry his second NBA Championship in 2007.

Bill and Luke Walton

Bill Walton won his first NBA Championship with the Portland Trailblazers in 1977. The Portland Trailblazers selected him first overall. After averaging 18.5 points, 19.0 rebounds, 1.0 steals, 5.2 assists, and 3.7 blocks in the finals, he was named Finals MVP in 1977. He became NBA MVP the following season while averaging 18.9 points, 13.3 rebounds, 5.0 assists, and 2,5 blocks in 58 games.

His second NBA Championship stint was with Boston Celtics in 1986. Despite being the first-round first overall pick, he was used as a backup center and he went on to become the 6th Man of the Year during the 1986 NBA Championship run.

duo to win NBA Championship

Luke Walton played in the NBA for 10 years, He spent 9 seasons as a Laker and his last year as a Cavalier. During his 9-year stay with the Los Angeles Lakers, he won 2 NBA Championships consecutively. Unlike his father, he was a role player for the Kobe Bryant-led team to win back-to-back NBA Championships.

Bill Walton and Luke Walton became the first father-duo son to win multiple NBA Championship.

Mychal Thompson, Klay Thompson

In Mychal Thompson’s 13 years in NBA, he won two back-to-back NBA Championships with the Los Angeles Lakers. He played as a backup center for Kareem Abdul-Jabbar as the Los Angeles Lakers won the 1987 and 1988 NBA Championships. His first NBA Championship was against the Boston Celtics whiles the 1988 NBA Championship was against Detroit Pistons after a 7-game series.

duo to win NBA Championship

Klay Thompson and Mychel Thompson took to their father’s profession. Mychel Thompson only spent a season in the NBA and the rest of his professional life in the NBA development league before he retired from professional basketball in 2018. On the other hand, Klay Thompson is a 4-time NBA Champion with the Golden State Warriors. Since joining the Warriors in 2011, Klay Thompson has been an integral member of the Warriors Dynasty and plays as a Shooting Guard.  He is part of the Golden State Warrior’s victorious NBA Championship run in 2015, 2017, 2018, and 2022.

Although Bill Walton and Luke Walton are the first father-duo son to win multiple NBA Championships, The Thompsons are the first father-son duo to win NBA Championship consecutively and also to win it against one team; the Boston Celtics

The Paytons

Gary Payton and Gary Payton II are the latest father-son duo to win NBA Championship. Gary Payton is a 9-time NBA All-Star who is well remembered for his game-winning jump shot against the Dallas Mavericks in game 3 of the NBA Finals. He was a backup to Jason Williams and helped the Miami Heat to win 2005/06 NBA Championship.

duo to win NBA Championship

Gary Payton II played a key role in Golden State Warrior’s 2022 NBA Championship run. As a role player, he had 15 points, 3 steals, and 5 rebounds to his name to help Golden State Warriors win game 5 of the finals. The Warriors went on to win game six in the backyard of the Boston Celtics; the TD Garden. Read about players who have won the World Cup, Balon D’or, and UEFA Champions League.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *